Pain Rating

Xkcd.com is one of my favorite web comics, maybe my most favorite. And Friday’s comic hit home. There have been a lot of times when I was at an emergency room that a doctor has asked me, on a scale of 1 to 10 how bad is the pain. And they expect you not to say 10.
I have sometimes asked clarification, like is that scale linear or logarithmic? If 10 is the worst thing I have experienced how does that tell them anything, they have no idea what I have experienced. So is 5 equivalent to getting kicked in the chest by a horse? That will kill you but it feels less painful than a box jellyfish sting all over your body, which might kill you but not always.
Pain is subjective, although I try to subject myself to it as little as possible, and no two of us will feel it the same way so my suggestion, enjoy the comic and try to not hurt each other.

About echlinm

Computer Programmer/Systems Analyst/Hacker S31
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

